The Galápagos archipelago is formed by 13 larger islands, and more than 60 smaller islets and rocks. The South Equatorial Current, an ensemble of various Peruvian coastal currents mixed with the Humboldt Current, reach the islands with its cold waters and serves as a gateway for organisms to arrive in a natural way. In this southeastern region of the Galápagos, species have had more time to adapt and evolve, which explains why there is such a higher rate of endemism among plants and animals.